Skip to main content
Bulletin | Covid-19

Daily Workplace Wrap-up on COVID-19 for May 19, 2020

Reading Time 3 minute read


Labour, Employment & Human Rights Bulletin

Below are the key government announcements made on May 19, 2020 that touch on workplace issues. Our daily (weekday) and weekend overviews of previous government announcements, employment analyses and other COVID-19 information are available here

The Federal Government

Canada and the United States have agreed to a 30-day extension of the current border restrictions on non-essential travel until June 21, 2020.

The government announced that it will be expanding the eligibility criteria of the Canada Emergency Business Account to include many owner-operated small businesses.


The government announced $14.2-million a month in extra COVID-19 funding for operators of continuing-care centres, nursing homes and assisted-living facilities. This funding is retroactive to March 15. 2020, and will continue until the orders from Alberta's Chief Medical Officer are rescinded.

The government issued Special Notice Vol. 7 No. 10 (PDF), permitting temporary accommodation providers to retain all tourism levy fees collected between March 1 and December 31, 2020. Operators are not required to remit these amounts and will be entitled to a refund for any tourism levy already remitted.

British Columbia

The government announced it will provide a Pandemic Pay Premium for employees in health, social services and corrections operations.


The government introduced a new texting option to the provincial toll-free crisis line available for individuals affected by family and intimate partner violence. 

New Brunswick

There were no major government updates as of 5:00 p.m. E.D.T. on May 19, 2020.

Newfoundland and Labrador

There were no major government updates as of 5:00 p.m. E.D.T. on May 19, 2020.

Nova Scotia

There were no major government updates as of 5:00 p.m. E.D.T. on May 19, 2020.


The government announced the extension (PDF) of all emergency orders currently in force to May 29, 2020. 

The government published the regulation required for the reopening (with restrictions) of retailers with street-front entrances, seasonal businesses and certain recreational activities, animal services, indoor and outdoor household services, construction, and certain health and medical services. The regulation can be found here.

The government announced that public schools will be closed for the remainder of the school year. Private schools, licensed child care centres and EarlyON programs will also remain closed through stage 1 of the government's Framework for Reopening the Province.

Prince Edward Island

There were no major government updates as of 5:00 p.m. E.D.T. on May 19, 2020.


The government announced it is reviewing lease, online shopping and physical distancing issues faced by retailers, and is working to complement federal initiatives for retailers.

Premier Legault also confirmed the government's plan for reopening additional sectors and activities, such as hairdressers, massage therapists, day camps and gatherings, is expected soon.


The Chief Medical Health Officer issued a Public Health Order (PDF) updating travel restrictions on these (PDF) communities in the Northern Saskatchewan Administration District ("NSAD"). The travel restrictions include, among other things:

  • restrictions on all non-critical travel (including those with primary residences) into and out of the northwest region, as well as restrictions on all non-critical travel between northwestern communities;
  • northwestern residents must remain in their local communities and practice appropriate social distancing. Exceptions are only for critical items like collecting groceries and medical appointments; and
  • only travel related to the delivery of essential services is permitted.

Commercial, domestic and recreational travel to and from all other areas of the NSAD is permitted effective May 19, 2020.

Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and the Yukon

There were no major government updates in Nunavut, the Northwest Territories or the Yukon as of 5:00 p.m. E.D.T. on May 19, 2020.

Contact the Authors

For more information or to discuss a particular matter please contact us.

Contact the Authors


    Sign up for updates from this team

    Receive email updates from our team