Skip to main content

PLEASE NOTE: For everyone’s safety, Fasken recommends anyone on-site at our Canadian offices be familiar with the COVID-19 recommendations in place which may include one or more of the following: social distancing, hand sanitizing, wearing a mask in common areas and proof of full vaccination. These measures apply to lawyers, staff, clients, service providers and other visitors.

Client Work

ING Canada rebrands insurance subsidiary as Intact Insurance

Reading Time 2 minute read Subscribe



ING Canada Inc.

On February 23, 2009, ING Canada (TSX: IIC) announced that ING Insurance Company of Canada, the country's largest home, auto and business insurer will become Intact Insurance Company and will operate under the Intact Insurance brand name. The name change followed the previous week's closing of a $2.2 billion private placement and secondary offering whereby institutional and retail investors acquired ING Groep's ownership interest in ING Canada, transforming the Canadian subsidiary of the Dutch banking and insurance giant into an independent Canadian-listed and widely-held company. ING Canada is one of the 60 largest Canadian publicly-traded companies with a market capitalization of more than $3.3 billion. Its 6,700 employees offer home, auto and business insurance under the Intact Insurance, belairdirect and Grey Power brands. Intact Insurance is the largest insurance company in the country providing property and casualty insurance products and solutions to individuals and businesses through a network of more than 1,800 locally-based insurance brokers coast-to-coast. ING Canada's legal team was led by Françoise Guénette, Senior Vice President, Corporate & Legal Services and Secretary, and included Chantal Denommée, Audrey Lachance, Suzanne Langlois and Karine Iskandar of ING Canada legal department. Fasken Martineau provided advice to ING Canada with respect to corporate and regulatory matters, transitional service arrangements with ING Group and the rebranding program, with a team comprised of Robert McDowell (corporate/regulatory), Aaron Atkinson (corporate), Andrew Nunes (information technology), May Cheng and Leanne Shaughnessy (intellectual property), and Marvin Mikhail (corporate/regulatory).



    Receive email updates from our team